What is TLD and types of TLDs?

What is TLD and types of TLDs?

Default Asked on November 2, 2018 in SEO.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

TLD (top-level domain) is the suffix or extension tied to a website. Most of the websites use the top-level domain com, commonly called “dot” com.Other common TLDs are net, org, and edu.

Types of TLDs are:

1. Generic Top-Level Domains (gTLD):

Some examples include “.edu” for educational sites and .”com” for commercial sites.

2. Country-Code Top-Level Domains (ccTLD):

Every ccTLD recognizes a specific country and it is generally two letters long. For example, the ccTLD for Australia is “.au” and for India is “.in”

3. Sponsored Top-Level Domains (sTLD):

The sTLD is supervised by private organization.

4. Infrastructure Top-Level Domains:

The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority controls this TLD

Default Answered on October 17, 2019.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.